The South African Veterinary Council regulates the practising of the veterinary and para-veterinary professions and the registration of persons practising such professions. Council exercises effective control over professional conduct, determines the standards of professional conduct and encourages and promotes efficiency in and responsibility with regard to the practising of these professions. Council protects the interests of the veterinary and para-veterinary professions and maintains and enhances the prestige, status, dignity and integrity of the professions. Council advises the Minister in relation to any matter affecting these professions.

The role of the veterinary and para-veterinary professions in the economic subsistence of the Agricultural and Health Sectors of South Africa dare not be underestimated and therefore the importance placed on the effective regulation of these professions is vitally important to the South African community.

The South African Veterinary Council is a statutory body, referred to as the Council and is constituted as follows:

Term of office 1 August 2016 - 31 July 2019

Six members elected in the prescribed manner:

Dr CP Marwick (president)

Dr JR Adam

Dr GAP Carlisle

Dr AP de Vos

Dr AJ Mohr

Dr CC Nkuna (vice-president)

Five members selected by the Minister of Agriculture:

Dr T Chetty

Dr AC Fleming

Dr CL Mnqetha

Prof V Naidoo

Mr T Zokufa (non veterinarian)

One representative designated by the South African Veterinary Association:

Dr J van Heerden

One representative of the Faculty of Veterinary Science, U.P. designated by the Minister of Agriculture

Prof D Holm

One member who is an officer of the Department of Agriculture and a registered veterinarian or specialist designated by the Minister

Dr MSM Molefe

One member designated by the Minister on account of his/her knowledge of law:

Ms K Mogale

One member elected by each of the following professions:

The Veterinary Nurses :

Sr T Lötter

The Veterinary Technologists:

Mr JJ Müller

The Laboratory Animal Technologists:

Mr CJJ Bester

Animal Health Technicians:

Mr MW Kutu

Members may contact the administration directly at Tel: 27(12) 345 6360 Fax: 27 (12) 345 6369 should they wish to submit any proposals for updating of the Code of Conduct and Practice for Veterinarians.